How to have people buy without realizing it

Earlier today I saw a blog post for a charity that was promoting a new DVD they are offering….well, sort of. What they were doing was saying they would send you the DVD as a thank you for any donation you make to them.

Now I know that cause marketing is nothing new and this is not a new way to raise money for a charity, but something about it has stuck with me.

The thing is, while the DVD interested me, I don’t know if I would have bought it. Now, I donated $15 to the charity following this offer and as soon as I hit the “pay” button I started wondering if I would have paid $15 if I had seen the DVD in the store.

Probably not.

But, when packaged as a “thank you” for a donation to a cause I believed in, I did so without giving it a second thought.

Like I said, this isn’t anything new, but I just feel like there’s something there. A way to sell something without someone feeling like they bought it.

Technorati Tags: ,,
How to have people buy without realizing it

One thought on “How to have people buy without realizing it

Leave a Reply

