Thanks Mitch!

So, I listened to episode 109 of Six Pixels of Separation recently when Mitch was discussing about keeping track of all the content we all consume

(editor’s note…if you’re not listening to Six Pixels, well, you’re missing out. Start NOW!)

I sent him an email asking how he does it and he just blogged it and tagged a bunch of other people to do the same.

The reason I asked him is that I struggle with this all the time. I bounce between so many systems to manage it all that I was hoping to find something I hadn’t tried. I know, not the best way to do it, but hey…they’re smarter than I am, so maybe I’d learn something!

One thing I got out of Mitch’s post and the subsequent comments is the part that having something to do with the information plays in the process.

What I mean is that so many of them say, “I mark things I want to blog like this…things I want to discuss like this…etc.”

Part of my problem is finding posts, articles and other info that I tag, star in Google Reader, note in Google Notebook, Evernote, etc. and it just sits there. The biggest change I need to make is to actually review the information and use it for something. Rather than letting it just take up storage space, I need to review it and apply it somewhere.

So, thanks Mitch for inspiring me to revisit this and hopefully make some adjustments to my processes!

 

Thanks Mitch!

One thought on “Thanks Mitch!

  1. I am curious to learn more about how people manage this as well. This is the reason I tagged a few people to get their opinions.

    My guess is that the best way to organize it might be using tags. Create a tagging system that works for you (to print, to read, etc…). It might be the only realistic way at this point 🙂

Leave a Reply

