Don’t ask for my information if you’re not going to use it!

Why do companies ask for information but not use it?

I was on the phone the other day getting tech support in setting up a new router. The first thing the rep asked (after the requisite phone menu) was my name and phone number, as well as my email.

About 20 minutes into the call, after a few unsuccessful attempts to fix the problem, my phone lost the connection.

Now remember when I said the first thing they asked for was my phone number?

Why didn’t the rep realize the connection was lost and call me right back?

I’ll bet they won’t have any problem using my number when they want to telemarket. If you ask a customer for personal information and then a situation presents itself through which the use of that information will build the relationship with the customer, doesn’t it seem natural to use the info?

Now I have to call back again and start over with a new rep. I understand that the call being dropped was my fault, but it seems that it was a missed opportunity for the company.

Don’t ask for my information if you’re not going to use it!

Leave a Reply

