I’m back…newspapers are not

So, I’ve neglected this blog for far too long. Maybe because I was down looking at the readership numbers, maybe I was busy…probably just lazy.

Anyway, I’m going to make a real effort at building this blog and making something out of it, and an ad I heard on the radio today SCREAMED for me to get back to blogging.

I heard an ad for our local newspaper here in Wisconsin, the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel is running a contest currently. They are putting some “hidden” items in various parts/stories/etc of the daily paper. You find them, enter them in this contest to potentially win prizes.

Wow, if this isn’t the death knell for print newspapers, I don’t know what is.

You can’t put content interesting enough in for people to actually READ the paper, you have to make a contest out of it for peopl

e to read.

Just shows the direction things are taking. I don’t think this will be the salvation for the print world…

I’m back…newspapers are not

2 thoughts on “I’m back…newspapers are not

  1. They’ve done this for a while in the classifieds. I’m hard pressed to look for something I want in there, let alone scour the pets area for a hidden icon. Who wants to pour over pages of print looking for things in the age of the search engine. Your right the whole idea is broken to begin with.

  2. Zeek:
    You’re right! I had forgotten about the classifieds contests.

    I had never heard about them doing it with an entire paper though. I guess when you don’t have content, you’ll do anything to get people to buy the paper.

    Thanks for your comment!

    Kevin

Leave a Reply

