Am I too old to learn?

Something has been on my mind lately.  Am I too old to learn?

Obviously, I know you’re NEVER too old to learn and you should never stop learning. That’s not what I’m getting at.

Since graduating college I’ve had a few jobs that haven’t really been what I’m looking for and have been more about paying the rent. That’s fine..it happens. 

But the last couple have been in a role where I’m in charge of marketing and PR functions. It’s great to be responsible, but I feel like I’ve never had that job where you learn from someone who’s been there…like a mentor who can guide you along. Now, I look around, I’m 28 and I wonder if I’m getting past the point where I can get hired and be able to learn and not just come in and have to do it because  they figure I should already know.

I would like to move into the “agency world” at some point, but I feel like I’m getting to the point where I will be expected to completely know what I’m doing when I come in. Plus, not having agency experience will I be able to afford to make the move as the whole “life” thing gets in the way?

Maybe I’m nuts and this makes no sense.  Just been on my mind lately.

Am I too old to learn?

Leave a Reply

