Are Bloggers More or Less?

I’m reading through the ChangeThis Manifesto by Larry Winget called You are Being Lied to.

So far, I’m a few pages in and it’s basically a rant about how most business authors are just that…authors, but don’t or can’t actually practice what they preach.

My question is this…are bloggers more or less likely to fall into the same group?  Do you think that bloggers are more likely to blog as an extension of what they do or more likely to be the same, “Write but don’t do,” group?

powered by performancing firefox

Are Bloggers More or Less?

2 thoughts on “Are Bloggers More or Less?

  1. Thanks for calling out Larry Winget’s ChangeThis Manifesto. I really enjoyed it.

    He writes: “Do what you said you were going to do, when you said you were going to do it, in exactly the way you said you were going to do it. You won’t ever get any better business advice than that.”

    Amen.

    I’ve always thought it is important to walk the walk. I started blogging back in 2002 because I was exploring how the web was changing public relations. I thought (and still do) that it was participation led to understanding, and credibility in counselling clients. Now, I’m fortunate to be working for Tucows, where blogging is part of the corporate DNA. So, I really feel like I’m walking the walk. It isn’t always easy, but it is a rush.

  2. Leona:

    Thanks for your comment. I love flackadelic!

    I whole heartedly agree with your statement that participation leads to understanding and credibility. I recently sat through a lunch presentation where the speaker touted the merits of blogging, podcasting and social media. Setting aside his presentation style, I was skeptical of what he was saying because I know that he rarely updates his blog and does not have a podcast.

    I think that to properly counsel clients (I’m assuming…I’m stuck in the “in house” world trying desperately to get to a point of moving into the agency realm where people understand the importance of these things!) it’s critical to illustrate our understanding through our actions.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

