The World is Changing….I mean CHANGED!

First things first, I hope you had a great Thanksgiving weekend.  Mine was busy, but nice.

Friday, before I left the office, I was walking around Crayonville Island in Second Life.  Happened across Divo Dapto (aka Joseph Jaffe) and Meatball Mangaroon (Rob of robtheexplainer) and got to chatting for a bit.

Now, when I try to explain the concept of Second Life to my wife, she looks at me like I have lobsters crawling out of my ears.  If you’re not part of the circles that “get it,” Second Life seems uber-geek like.  If I wasn’t in marketing, I’d probably think the same thing.

But here’s the cool part.

I was talking, real time, with someone for whom I have great respect and is one of the leaders in the world of marketing.  Tell me when that could have happened before these new technologies came around.  Sure, talking to an avatar is strange, but I think the concept is cool.  If I wanted to, (and had the ability) to talk via Skype, I could have said so to Joseph…because I knew he was available.  Plus, I never would have met Rob, who I think has a great blog. 

These things are all about connecting, conversing and finding like minds. 

Does it make me geeky?  Maybe.  But, I know exactly where to find people who are just as geeky as me!

powered by performancing firefox

The World is Changing….I mean CHANGED!

One thought on “The World is Changing….I mean CHANGED!

Leave a Reply

