Making a Run at Netflix

In this “Long Tail” world, Netflix has (rightfully) gotten much of the props as the leader in “mail order” DVD rental.  Blockbuster has been playing catch up.

That’s about to change.

I heard about this a few weeks ago, and now it’s starting to filter out. 

Basically, Blockbuster is using the one thing they have that Neftlix doesn’t (ie physical locations) to make a run at them, and I think this one will stick much better than the “if you need an extra day or two, that’s fine, but we’re not going to tell you how long you actually get” late fees elimination.

Being able to return your mailed DVD to a store and take a movie off the shelf to watch while you wait for the next one on your list to be mailed (if done right) will help Blockbuster immensely.  At least in my opinion.

I’m planning on switching from Netflix to Blockbuster once this is up and running.

What about you?

powered by performancing firefox

Making a Run at Netflix

One thought on “Making a Run at Netflix

  1. Zeek says:

    Having been fiscally punished for years for 1. my inability to find an alternative to monopolistic BB, which led me to 2. paying endless late fees because their inflexibilty to the way I actually watch and decide not to watch movies, has led me to pray for their corporate demise more than any other ‘evil’ corporate entity I’ve encountered.

    Netflix, while not perfect or frankly customer centric [they rely purely on customer acquisition, rather then customer satisfaction] was the best thing that happened to home viewing since VCR 1.0 for me. I support them even when inconvenienced, because they are driving my self-defined personal corporate nemesis out of business.
    I see this latest attempt to tie brick store with virtual as the thrashing of a cancerous, falling giant. They made customers play by their rules for years and now trying to play catch-up with ‘subservient video’ just isn’t going to cut it.

    Even if an unmarked BB hole next to my mailbox accepted recently viewed movies and instantly spit out my next in queue, their years of customer abuse and pseudo-christian censorship [the brick-and-mortars never carried Last Temptation due to head honchos beliefs etc] have not only lost a customer but gained an adamant foe.

    But honestly, how do I really feel about all this, you’re asking…

Leave a Reply

