The Business Sense of Dwight Schrute

If you’re not watching The Office, you should be.

Now, I know there’s a lot of debate as to whether the US or British version is better.  Personally, I prefer the US version because I saw that first.  Never could get into the British version…but I know a lot of people are.  That’s not my point though.

Last night (Oct 19) there was a quick comment made by the character Dwight Schrute that I think sums up the opinion of so many businesses today.  Well, the ones that will struggle at least.

He’s complaining about the “online paper company competitors” and says, “They’ll be in big trouble when this Internet fad goes away.”

It’s scary to see the number of people and companies that see the Internet as a fad.  As another way to deliver advertising (the traditional form) as a way to blast their substandard message at a lot of people, cheaply.

The companies that will succeed are the ones that understand that this Internet “thing” is the new way, quickly becoming the normal way, and often the best way.  As businesses are filled more and more with people who don’t know life without the Internet, understanding web-based communications deeply will be increasingly important. 

It can’t be ignored anymore, but I see too many companies doing their damndest to try.

Just because you’re not joining the conversation doesn’t mean it’s not happening.  You can’t be like the kid who thinks that because he can’t see you, you must not really be there.

powered by performancing firefox

The Business Sense of Dwight Schrute

3 thoughts on “The Business Sense of Dwight Schrute

  1. Zeek says:

    Do you think one can take it too far in the other direction, though?
    I read Jaffe is opening his new ‘agency’ in second life.
    Now, there have to be pioneers for everything, and I’m all for new media revolution and pushing the env. etc, but to me it seems a bit early for what is new and primarily a casual virtual residence [although one with it’s own economy, granted]. How does one market real goods and services out in the real world to a few people [insert whatever the current reported pop. of SL is] who seem primarily interested in escaping all that into a ok, i’ll say it- glorified video game ? He’ll be the firest man in space, so I supposed that’s why he’s there- to figure it all out?
    If I was at a vacation cabin and someone placed a billboard in the view line of the lake or mountains, I’d be more than a little upset.

  2. I certainly think that anything can be taken too far in the other direction.

    As far as Jaffe is concerned, I will have to wait and see. I have nothing but respect for the people involved with crayon, and I think that if anyone can make it work, they can.

    I guess I don’t know enough about it yet. Are they going to manage, consult, etc ONLY in Second Life. That’s not the impression I got. Sure, that’s where they reside, where you can find them, etc, but I didn’t get the impression that their business would take place only in Second Life…that’s just where you go to find them.

    I think that it’s a very interesting idea. I, for one, could probably never get to their office if they located it where any of them live. But, in Second Life, it’ll be a breeze. I’m intrigued to see how this goes though.

    Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

