Out with the old, in with the….not so fast!

I’ve been thinking on this a lot lately.

So many of the “new marketing” “new PR” “social media” tools are GREAT for enhancing, solidifying and fostering strong relationships.  The problem is…getting people to engage.

If you completely shun “old marketing” like direct mail, advertising, etc…how do you get the attention of people and provide the opportunity for them to engage with you through these superior tools?  Sure, Seth would say, “Just make a product so remarkable that everyone talks about it.”  I say great.  I would love to.  But, I’m not in a position right now to recommend that to the company that pays my checks!

How can I leverage their belief in traditional media like direct mail, magazine ads, etc to transfer those people into the social elements?

Then, how can I use the tools like a blog, podcast, email, etc to talk about insurance?  That may be the bigger challenge.

Still trying to figure this one out, so if you have any suggestions, I’d appreciate them.

powered by performancing firefox

Out with the old, in with the….not so fast!

Leave a Reply

